Posted by: agapeflower | May 1, 2009

Update.

So quite a lot has gone down since my last post: I’ve lost my job, found out I was ineligible for both unemployment and health insurance, and have been searching high and low for more work before all of our money runs out (estimated to be sometime in the middle of June).

But I know from experience that people don’t want to focus on dreadful things like that; they want to hear happy things, things that will take them away from their own gloominess – if you are, in fact, gloomy – so, in no particular order, here is a list of things that have kept a smile on my face in these recent weeks:

1) My Awesome husband, who makes me laugh every day.  May marks our one-year wedding anniversary, which is wonderful.

2) The genius that is Lupe Fiasco.

3) The staff at the Squirrel Hill branch of the Carnegie Library, who now greet me by name when I walk in.  That’s right.  Cheers status.

4) I’ve discovered the joy (and hard work) of doing some freelance work, which I began the undertaking of a month ago.  It’s difficult, but it’s what I love.  Hopefully one day I’ll even profit from it!

5) Spring! Spring spring spring I can’t say  it enough it is wonderful.

6) I’ve been going to Mass every day (well, I have for the past 4 days), and it’s something that I really do enjoy.  I’m the youngest one there by just about three decades, but it’s still nice to be able to leave the apartment, get out a little bit, and spend quality time at God’s house.  Sacred Heart makes a nice one, too.

What are some things you have going on that make you happy or bring you joy?

Responses

  1. I love that you’re friends with the librarians. You probably give a lot of people hope being a young interested beautiful woman engaging in library visits and daily mass.

  2. Genny, you are way too good to me! The librarians are so funny – I was taken aback when they called my name…I don’t know how they remembered, since they got the last name right, also! Haha.


Leave a Reply

Categories

