Posted by: agapeflower | January 22, 2009

How Can I Keep From Quoting?

I am heavily crushing on Sherman Alexie, Native American poet extraordinaire, tonight.  If you never get to read another poem again, make your last one “One Stick Song”:

“I sing you back from the parking lot of the convenience store.
I sing you back from the sixth floor of the Catholic hospital.
I sing you back from the seventh floor of the Veterans Hospital
back from the floor of your trailer house
from the cold fog of San Francisco
from 544 East Dave Court
I sing you back from the blood stained wall
from the stand of pine
the Pacific Ocean
the Spokane River
I sing you back from Chicacum Creek…”

He is amazing.  He was on The Colbert Report somewhat recently, as well, making cracks about “Indian giving.”

It’s been a while since I’ve been to a poetry reading here in Pittsburgh.  I went a few times during the summer before I was working, and was even mildly prolific in the second issue of a new magazine.  I always got a kick out of the people who would attend the readings.

I first started going to them sometime in college; the local Barnes and Noble would have open mic nights my brother would insist on taking me to.  I’d bring a few poems with me, folded over a million times in nervousness, thinking about possible excuses to make to duck out of the whole thing.  And it’s funny, because I’m pretty accustomed to talking in front of crowds, so that part was decent; and I was pretty sure I’d never see anyone who attended them again, so sharing my work was fine, too…but to be honest, I was mostly scared of not being tall enough to reach the mics at those open-mic nights.  Luckily, I was able to meet the height requirements for most of them.  😉

I think I should take a look around the town and see if there are any popping up in the near future.  If you’re ever interested in going – and I know you – let me know and we’ll go sometime!

Categories

